events / random thoughts

THREE (FUNNY) THINGS I’VE LEARNED IN MY CONFIRMATION

I’ve been waiting for the right time to revive this blog. My last post is about my first day at work in a new company, and since then, I had no time to update this personal blog. I was so occupied with lots of things: work, church, personal life, and others. I also became a fanatic of YOUTUBE beauty gurus, and spent more time watching those beauty geeks than to really express my thoughts in this blog.

I believe now is the right time to update this blog: RIGHT AFTER I HAD MY SECOND BAPTISM. Or for most of Catholics, we call it “Confirmation” In Tagalog, “Kumpil.” Symbolically, this is a second baptism because upon receiving this Holy Sacrament, you will CONFIRM your faith as a devout Catholic.So, along with my REBIRTH as a CATHOLIC.. I guess, this is the right time to give this blog its second birth as well.


We were first obliged to attend a seminar to learn more about Confirmation. (In our case, it was given by Tita Mayen). I tried my best to listen- but my stomach was growling I couldn’t even digest what she was talking about. So, honestly, I didn’t learn anything from the seminar… but I did learn things on the entire ceremony. What are those? Let me enumerate them…

Lesson #1: EVERYONE WILL THINK THAT THE MAIN REASON FOR YOUR CONFIRMATION IS THAT YOU WILL GET MARRIED.

This is due to the fact that you need to undergo confirmation first before you receive the sacrament of marriage. You will not be permitted to marry someone in the Catholic Church lest you receive three sacraments: BAPTISM, COMMUNION, and CONFIRMATION. So, this means that CONFIRMATION is treated as the LAST REQUIREMENT for you to be qualified to have the sacrament of marriage. And so CONFIRMATION has always been connected to MARRIAGE because there are quite a few who will have the initiative to confirm their Catholic Faith without the purpose of marriage on their minds. Oh, well, I plan to get married- BUT NOT NOW. I just want to confirm my faith and receive this wonderful sacrament. NOT FOR ANYTHING ELSE.

Lesson #2: THE PRIEST’S SLAP IS NOT REALLY A SLAP! HE WILL JUST TOUCH YOUR CHEEK– AND THAT’S IT.
There is a myth or more of a joke that Confirmation Ceremony will include the Priest slapping your face. Slap is an exaggeration. He will just touch your cheek right after he asks you of an important question for you to confirm your faith. This slap symbolizes the awakening of your faith right after you receive the Holy Spirit. I love this part. There is something in this touch that makes you alive.

Lesson #3 DONT WORRY ABOUT CAMERA AND FOOD, GOD WILL TAKE CARE OF THOSE.
My camera died on me last month and since then, I have been crying inside everytime I wanted to capture important moments or events- MY CONFIRMATION INCLUDED. I didnt have any camera to bring- and all the while I’ve been trying my best to just accept the fact that this confirmation of mine will pass away without any pictures left for me to reminisce. I was wrong. There’s JENNY- who also received her confirmation- AND SHE BROUGHT A CAMERA. There’s MOMMY EARLY- who captured important details in my confirmation. I LOVE HER. And of course, Camera phones are everywhere. So there- I have lots and lots of pictures of my own confirmation.(BUT I STILL NEED TO GET COPIES FROM THEM.. HIHI.)
As for the food- A friend of a friend invited us in their celebration. Ate Ana, who was my ninang, had friends who received their confirmation on that same day as well. They just invited us to eat with them in their house… and viola- we had a wonderful celebration. Filipinos are known for hospitality and friendliness so there’s no need for us to gate-crash just to fill in our poor empty stomach. I didn’t have the time- nor the money- to spend in our celebration but God gave me MANY FRIENDS IN OUR CHURCH. We ate spaghetti- and bread- and coke FOR FREE.

So, there. My confirmation. I believe it was a wonderful experience. I urge everyone to take the time to receive this Holy Sacrament- because there is no substitute for eternal blessing.

STAY HAPPY…

Leave your footprint

